The very presence of informed, concerned citizens, in and around facilities, can make a critical difference and provide a force to ensure quality care for persons in long-term care facilities. 

Community Advisory Committees are made up of volunteers who are passionate about protecting the rights of individuals residing in long-term care facilities in their communities. Members come from various backgrounds and do not necessarily have a “professional” insight into long-term care. 

Typically, CAC members spend a minimum 8 hours per quarter fulfilling their primary responsibilities i.e., visiting long term care facilities and completion of quarterly visitation worksheets.  Additionally, attendance is required at quarterly committee meetings.  Initial appointment to the CAC is for a one year term.  After the one year term is completed members are eligible for subsequent appointments to two or three year terms.

For more information about the Community Advisory Committee, or to apply for  the Committee in your County, click HERE

Check us out on FACEBOOK

Committee Members by County

Camden  –  Vacancy (2)

Donna Harrell ~  Clarann Mansfield ~ Tammie Krauss

Chowan  –  Vacancy (3)

Dellie Rae Bass ~ Priscilla Gazey ~ Amy Sopher ~ Bernard Hurdle

Currituck  –  Vacancy (1)

Diane Bray ~ Lynda Daniel ~  Debra Williams ~ Joan West ~ Kelsey Hall

Dare  –  Vacancy (2)

Mary Jernigan  ~ Jim Tobin ~ Susie Walters ~ Mary Pendill

Gates  –  Vacancy (5)

Brenda Riddick

Hyde  –  Vacancy (0)

Linda Flowers ~ Frances House ~ Karen Meekins ~ Jan Moore ~ Glen Credle

Pasquotank  –  Vacancy (4)

David Boone ~  Carol Mizelle ~ Una Green ~ Johnnie “JR” Johnson

Perquimans  –  Vacancy (2)

Ernestine Simpson ~  Mary Corprew ~ Walker Rayburn ~ Deborah Pfennig

Tyrrell  –  Vacancy (1)

James Cahoon ~ Linda Holton ~  Dee Dee Bullock ~ Mary Cooper

Washington  –  Vacancy (1)

Kim Cotten-West ~ Burl Walker ~  John Fallon ~ Julie Phelps ~ Gail Spiewak

 Roster Updated 7/31/2019

2019 Community Advisory Committee Meetings 

Meetings are open to the public. Committee business sessions are only open to CAC Members.

Camden County – (meets at the Camden Senior Center at 2:00 PM)

January 23  ~  April 16  ~  July 9  ~  October 8

Chowan County – (meets at the Public Safety Building, 2nd floor, at 10:00 AM)

March 4  ~  June 6  ~  July 9 ~  October 1

Currituck County – (meets at Currituck Senior Center at 9:30 AM)

January 17  ~  April 11  ~  July 10  ~  October 3

Dare County – (meets at the Dare County Baum Center in KDH at 2:00 PM)

January 24  ~  April 11  ~  July 10  ~  October 24

Gates County – (meets at the Gates County Public Library at 11:00 AM)

February 12  ~  May 7  ~  July 29  ~  October 22

Hyde County – (meets at the Mattamuskeet Senior Center at 11:00 AM)

March 5  ~  N/A  ~  August 20 ~  November 5

Pasquotank County – (meets at the Daybreak Adult Day Health at 1:00 PM)

March 11  ~  May 1  ~  July 24  ~  October 16

Perquimans County – (meets at the Albemarle Commission at 10:00 AM)

February 6  ~  May 1  ~  July 24  ~  October 16

Tyrrell County – (meets at the Tyrrell Senior Center at 1:30 PM)

January 31  ~  June 6  ~  July 18  ~  October 17

Washington County – (meets at the Washington County Senior Center at 2:00 PM)

March 5  ~  N/A  ~  August 20 ~  November 5

Calendar Updated 6/6/2019

 Congratulations to our Newest Community Advisory Committee Members!

Welcome to Community Advisory Committee Members that completed the first phase of their training on February 28, 2019.

Pictured are seated (l-r) Mary Cooper (Tyrrell County), Donna Harrell (Camden County), Brenda Riddick (Gates County) and standing (l-r) Gail Spiewak (Washington County), Deborah Pfennig (Perquimans County), Walker Rayburn (Perquimans County), Bernard Hurdle (Chowan County) and Diane Stoll (Pasquotank County)

NEXT Community Advisory Committee New Member Training:

To Be Determined

You MUST fill out a Volunteer Application and submit to your County Office or the AAA prior to the date of the training. Individuals participating in the training will receive confirmation of training time. To complete a Community Advisory Member Volunteer Application, click  HERE

 Applications can be mailed to Jasmine Wilson @ Albemarle Commission or faxed to (252) 426-8482

Community Advisory Member Documents:

Committee Member Activity Record

CAC Quarterly Visit Report Form

CAC Meeting Minutes Form

CAC Annual Report Form

CAC Bylaws by County:

Camden County

Chowan County

Currituck County

Dare County

Gates County

Hyde County

Pasquotank County

Perquimans County **

Tyrrell County

Washington County

** Bylaws that do not appear here are in the process of being updated and approved by the Community Advisory Committee for that County.