Thank you for visiting the website of the Albemarle Commission Region R Council of Governments. Our purpose is to improve the lives of the those that live, work, play and conduct business in the Albemarle Region.  The Albemarle Region consists of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington Counties.  While our purpose has many facets, including strengthening local governments, enhancing infrastructure, multi-modal transportation planning, training workers, providing services to the elderly, supporting economic development, and facilitating regional collaboration for the betterment of the region, it all comes back to that same fundamental purpose improving the lives of those that live, work, play and conduct business within the Albemarle Region.

If you have an interest in our Region, we want to be a resource to you. As you browse our site, I hope you will find the information or specific contact person to best meet your needs. If you are unable to find what you are looking for, please feel free to contact us by e-mail at or to call our general number at (252) 426-5753 and we will direct you to the best person to provide the resources you are seeking. You can also feel free to contact the Executive Director at (252)426-5753.


Please click here to meet our Albemarle Commission Directors and  learn about the work we do throughout our region.