The Albemarle Commission, also known as the Albemarle Planning District Commission was recognized as an Economic Development District (EDD) by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration in 1972.

The Albemarle Commission’s  EDD was formed to assist local governments in the 10 county region to improve the opportunities within the Region, as well as to support local businesses through a regional Revolving Loan Fund.

The Region consists of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington Counties.



NORTH CAROLINA Economic Development Links

State Government Office

EDA Regional Office

Economic Development Districts

Trade Adjustment Assistance Center

University Center